2022 Hockey Alberta Provincial Championships

After a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19, the Hockey Alberta Provincial Championships, presented by ATB Financial, are returning in 2022.

A total of 32 provincial champions will be crowned during March and April. Host locations for the 29 weekend championship tournaments were announced December 17. The final three provincial champions will be determined through league playoffs.

The 2022 Provincial Championships will be held:

Senior AA April 7-10

Fort Saskatchewan

Junior A League Playoffs N/A
Junior B March 31 - April 3 Wainwright
Junior C March 25-27 Sherwood Park
Junior Female League Playoffs N/A
U18 AAA League Playoffs N/A
U16 AAA April 7-10 Grande Prairie 
U18 AA March 31 - April 3 Calgary
U18 Tier 1 March 31 - April 3 Calgary
U18 Tier 2 March 31 - April 3 Westlock
U18 Tier 3 March 31 - April 3 Brooks
U18 Tier 4 March 31 - April 3 Slave Lake
U18 Female AAA March 18-20 Calgary
U18 Female AA March 24-27 Ponoka (Red Deer Sutter Fund Chiefs)
U18 Female A March 31 - April 3 Sherwood Park
U18 Female B March 31 - April 3 Cold Lake
U15 AAA March 24-27 Fort Saskatchewan
U15 AA March 24-27 Beaumont
U15 Tier 1 March 24-27 Canmore
U15 Tier 2 March 24-27 Killam/Sedgewick (Battle River MHA)
U15 Tier 3 March 24-27 Provost
U15 Tier 4 March 24-27 Lacombe
U15 Female AA March 17-20 Okotoks
U15 Female A March 24-27 Lethbridge
U15 Female B March 24-27 Camrose
U13 AA March 31 - April 3 Strathcona
U13 Tier 1 March 31 - April 3 Grande Prairie
U13 Tier 2 March 31 - April 3 Rocky Mountain House
U13 Tier 3 March 31 - April 3 Marwayne/Dewberry
U13 Tier 4 March 31 - April 3 Sundre
U13 Female A March 31 - April 3 Picture Butte
U13 Female B March 31 - April 3 Calgary

For the first time, zone playdowns will not be used to determine the qualifying teams. Rather, participating teams for provincial championship tournaments will be determined through league playoffs.

Most Minor Tiered and Minor Female events will feature eight teams - the host, a wild card and the champions from each division’s respective leagues: Hockey Calgary, Edmonton Federation Hockey League, Central Alberta Hockey League, Northern Alberta Interlock, All Peace Hockey League, North Eastern Alberta Hockey League, Rocky Mountain Female Hockey League, and East Central Female Hockey League.

ATB Financial is returning as the presenting sponsor of the 2022 Provincial Sponsorships.

“We know playing for the championship is every young hockey player’s goal at the start of each season," said Kris Noble, Senior Manager, Sponsorship and Community Investment. "We are excited to be back as the Presenting Sponsor of the Hockey Alberta Provincial Championships and look forward to making these events a special experience for everyone involved; the players, parents, officials and volunteers."

For questions regarding the 2022 provincial championship tournaments, contact Michelle Skilnick, Member Services (mskilnick@hockeyalberta.ca).






Senior AA


Junior AJunior BJunior CJunior Female


U18 AAU18 AAAU18 Female AU18 Female AAAU18 Female BU18 Female AAU18 Tier 1U18 Tier 2U18 Tier 3U18 Tier 4U16 AAA


U15 AAU15 AAAU15 Female AU15 Female BU15 Female AAU15 Tier 1U15 Tier 2U15 Tier 3U15 Tier 4


U13 AAU13 Female AU13 Female BU13 Tier 1U13 Tier 2U13 Tier 3U13 Tier 4